Workshops & DPF2013

Its been three very hectic weeks and I’m so sorry for not being to update the blog. So much has been going on that my head been’s buzzing with information and work (in the most amazing way).

Firstly Delhi Photo Festival has been going on. I wasn’t able to attend it last year and I didn’t know what to expect from it. And it wouldn’t be modest if I said it was great. Met some brilliant artists and got to see some really great work. Its one space you really want to be if you’re enthusiastic about photography. Its a biannual event in Indian Habitat Center, New Delhi. So if you love photography and you missed it this time, start planning for the next one in 2015!

(I’ve been experimenting with my new camera phone, ignoring my DSLR, so the image quality might differ from the earlier posts)

DPF 2013 was themed "Grace" as a tribute to the late photographer Prabhudha Dasgupta
DPF 2013 was themed “Grace” as a tribute to the late photographer Prabhudha Dasgupta
Cafe 31
Prabhudha’s work was featured right in the center of the venue along with contact sheets from the same shoots
Talk with Iranian photographer Babak Kazemi and his partner. They spoke about how work came out of rebellion and social issues.
Talk with Iranian photographer Babak Kazemi and his partner. They spoke about how work came out of rebellion and social issues.
Rajiv Kumar's 'Dhanuskodi' gave me a personal tour of his exhibit.
Rajiv Kumar’s ‘Dhanuskodi’ gave me a personal tour of his exhibit.

This year I participated in one of the workshops in the festival, “The Photographic Essay”, mentored by the brilliant Sumit Dayal. Sumit comes from ICP NY and is represented by prospektphoto in Milan. His client list includes work for Time, Glamour, Vrij Nederland, Shell UK, Soros Foundation Nepali Times, Dan Church Aid, Vanity Fair and Himal.

The five day workshop included 10 participants who came together with work created over two weeks. In the workshop we broke down the work, focused the threads of thoughts and worked on building a narrative. I have to say that Sumit has a amazing talent of being able to look through a vague idea and focus it to a point of coherence and beauty.

Introduction to the workshop.
Introduction to the workshop in Sanskriti Kendra near Gurgaon
Discussing the half berliner series with Sourabh Hura
Discussing the half berliner series with Sorabh Hura
Looking at some work created by Sumit in Kashmir from portraits made in local studios
Looking at some work created by Sumit in Kashmir from portraits made in local studios
From Sumit's Kashmir project
From Sumit’s Kashmir project. His upcoming project LOC is to be launched soon, by OCT end.
I've been following Sumit's work since Lomography. One of the thing which amazed me the most is how he uses a Lomo LC-A+ with such brilliance, creating intimacy with the simplest tools.
I’ve been following Sumit’s work since Lomography. One of the thing which amazed me the most is how he uses a Lomo LC-A+ with such brilliance, creating intimacy with the simplest tools. The strips you see here are from his work “Kashmir, On Going Home”.
Here's the whole group editing my work from Punjab
Here’s the whole group editing my work from Punjab

This was my first workshop ever and I have to say it was a beautiful experience. Programs like this are designed to break down the work to its core and it was really refreshing how people would see what you’ve created in their own unique way. The atmosphere is quite charged and I’d really recommend anyone who is working on serious projects to apply.

Another great thing which happened is that I got to meet Munem Wasif, a masterphotographer from Bangladesh who was teaching another workshop next door.
Another great thing which happened is that I got to meet Munem Wasif, a masterphotographer from Bangladesh who was teaching another workshop next door.
Munem's group presenting their work in DPF in a slideshow
Munem’s group presenting their work in DPF in a slideshow
Githartha from our group showing his final prints. The work was later (and still is on) exhibited in DPF
Gitartha from our group showing his final prints. The work was later (and still is on) exhibited in DPF
Kishor with his amazingly colorful and tasty Biryani series
Kishor with his amazingly colorful and tasty Biryani series

And if I wasn’t lucky enough to attend this workshop with Sumit (who is an absolutely inspiring teacher), I found myself assisting Raghu Rai in the first ever Magnum Workshop in India. I do remember that the very first photo book I saw in my life was by him, Raghu Rai’s India, Black & White. I don’t think there is a single photographer in India who hasn’t been inspired by him. Such brilliance!

Magnum Workshop (4 days) with Raghu Rai
Magnum Workshop (4 days) with Raghu Rai
Mr Raghu Rai is the only photographer from India who's a part of Magnum
Mr Raghu Rai is the only photographer from India who’s a part of Magnum. Every morning we began the workshop with critique of previously created work.

Delhi Photo Festival 2013 has been really inspiring and driving. What an experience, had a great great time. I’ve listed links below for you to look up all the photographers I’ve named in the post above.

Links :
Delhi Photo Festival Official Website
Sumit Dayal’s Official Bio
Sumit Dayal on Time Lightbox : New Tibetans
Munem Wasif’s Official Website
Raghu Rai’s Official Website
Magnum Official Website
Rajiv Kumar’s Official Website

3 thoughts on “Workshops & DPF2013

  1. It was such a large, rich, bountiful festival. I enjoyed reading your experience of it, which is so different from mine.

    I thought Raghu Rai’s students’ put up a much better quality slideshow than Abbas’.

Leave a Reply

