DIY Straps For Your Camera

Ok, admit it that Canon makes the worst straps for cameras. Its a little obscene and vulgar to write “Canon EOS” or for me “Canon 5DMKII” on the strap. Its almost like “Check out my shit, bitch”. So just to make a more subtle statement and get a better grip on the camera, I decided to get a new strap. But as I’m usually broke, I decided to make my own strap.

So off we go to the belt market in Delhi. Cheap cheap cheap!

Strap_4

Now there are many options but I finally picked a canvas belt. Long enough to chop up and work as a strap. Then comes the negotiation, bargain and finally get the belt for about 2$ or 100Rs.

Strap_1

Now the next part is not documented but what I basically did is to remove the original strap and stitch in the belt. And finally woohoo!

Strap_5

This strap is a lot more comfortable, weight is better balanced and its much easier to grip. Not to mention no more Canon advertising crap and much much better looking.

One thought on “DIY Straps For Your Camera

Leave a Reply

